Home Blog 2021 ACT Landcare Awards

2021 ACT Landcare Awards

media, Blog | 11 Mar 2022 |


The outstanding contributions of individuals, schools, groups and organisations in caring for the land and water in the ACT Region were recognised and celebrated at the 2021 ACT Landcare Awards, held last night at Gold Creek Station, Hall.

The 2021 awards were delayed due to COVID, and over 120 attendees were pleased to celebrate the awards, which support knowledge sharing and achievements while promoting community leadership and resilience.

“It was a wonderful evening where we celebrated the Landcare movement and acknowledged some truly remarkable contributions,” said Landcare ACT CEO, Karissa Preuss.

“In the ACT, there are many thousands of individuals and over 70 groups who are dedicated to caring for the natural assets of our bush capital. This event was an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the work of these Landcare volunteers.”

“We received 37 nominations in 11 categories, and it wasn't an easy task for the judges to decide on the winners. The winners of many of the 2021 ACT Landcare Awards will go forward as nominees for the 2022 National Landcare Awards to be held on Wednesday 24 August 2022 in Sydney,” said Ms Preuss.

“Every one of the nominees for this award deserved to win. It’s incredible to see the changes that are possible when a group of passionate Landcarers and volunteers work to heal the land and our beautiful waterways,” said Deb Kellock, winner of the Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award.

“This award is special because it acknowledges the hard work and commitment from our whole school community to leaving the world a better, greener and more sustainable place,” said Tania Collis, Principal of North Ainslie Public School, winner of the Woolworths Junior Landcare Team Award.

The ACT Landcare Awards are proudly supported by the Australian Government's National Landcare Program, Australian Community Media, KPMG Australia, Steadfast, Woolworths, Landcare Australia, the National Landcare Network, the ACT Government, and Landcare ACT.


  •  ACM Landcare Community Group Award - Friends of Mount Majura
  • Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award - Deb Kellock
  • Australian Government Landcare Farming Award - Mount Majura Vineyard
  • Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award - The ACT Healthy Waterways partnership between the Southern ACT Catchment Group, Ginninderra Catchment Group, Molonglo Conservation Group and ACT Government
  • KPMG Indigenous Land Management Award - Karen Denny
  • Steadfast Young Landcare Leadership Award - Fred McGrath Weber
  • Woolworths Junior Landcare Team Award - North Ainslie Primary School and P&C
  • ACT Government Citizen Science Award - Dr Rosemary Purdie
  • ACT Government Quiet Achiever Award - Gudgenby Bush Regenerators Group
  • Landcare ACT Photography Awards – Amateur - Jim Lehane
  • Landcare ACT Photography Awards – Professional - Ian Houghton

Media release

Media Release
We acknowledge the Ngunawal people, who are the Traditional Landowners of this country and their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay respect to elders past, present and emerging.
GCF Logo
Molonglo Logo
Southern Catchment Logo

© Copyright 2021 Landcare ACT