Landcare ACT Board

Skills-based Board committed to Landcare ACT's vision, mission and purpose.

Landcare ACT Board

Skills-based Board committed to Landcare ACT's vision, mission and purpose.


The Landcare ACT Board is made up of seven members who have a diverse range of skills to assure rigorous oversight of governance matters and provide strategic direction.

Dr Maxine Cooper – Independent Chair

Dr Cooper is the  Independent Chair of the ACT and Region Catchment Coordination Group, former ACT Auditor General and a former ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment. Maxine has been a Senior Executive in the ACT Government managing roles in a wide range of areas including urban and regional planning; environmental management, heritage, land management to business (ACTION Buses, cemeteries, the ACT Nursery, Capital Linen, major venues, and tourism).

Santo (Sandy) Lolicato - Treasurer

Sandy worked in the public sector for 30 years as a manager, mostly within Agricultural Environmental and Indigenous related agencies. He has been involved in a range of voluntary organisations including Landcare, as Chair, Ginninderra Catchment Group, Board Member, Landcare ACT and Member of Murrumbateman Landcare Group. He has also volunteered in the environmental sector as a guide at the Australian National Botanic Gardens. Sandy has a rural property in the Murrumbateman area. 

Kerry Olsson - Board Member

Kerry has had a life-time commitment to the stewardship of Australia’s land and waters. She has extensive experience in federal government water and environment policies and programs and is a rural lessee in the ACT. As Deputy Chair of the Southern ACT Catchment Group, she believes in the importance of supporting local communities and land managers to engage in the rehabilitation, protection and climate adaptation of the ACT’s landscapes.

Wally Bell - Board Member

Wally is an Ngunawal custodian who has long been a champion for Aboriginal caring for country in the ACT region. Wally is on the Board of Landcare ACT, Director of Buru Ngunawal Aboriginal Corporation, Convenor of Mulanggang Aboriginal Landcare Group and member of the Dhawura Ngunnawal Caring for Country Committee. Wally was the winner of the 2017 Aboriginal land management award in the ACT and was also part of the Yurung Dhaura team, which won the National Landcare Award. He is passionate about caring for country and passing on cultural knowledge to younger generations.

Catherine Keirnan - Board Member

With a family farm in the ACT, Catherine has hands-on experience in natural resource management and regenerative agriculture. She was an inaugural Director of Landcare ACT and served as CEO for six months. She has worked as a landscape architect and has qualifications in project management and Interior design. She has worked in the private consulting sector and in the public sector in sustainable urban design and planning, and climate change adaptation.

Glenys Patulny - Board Member

Glenys Chaired the Southern ACT Catchment Group from its inception in 2002 until very recently.  Glenys was Deputy Principal of a large high school and has also been a representative to Landcare NSW and the National Landcare Network. She is on the board of the Conservation Council and is an Executive of the Upper Murrumbidgee Catchment Network. She was honoured in 2019 with the Order of Australia

We acknowledge the Ngunawal people, who are the Traditional Landowners of this country and their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay respect to elders past, present and emerging.
GCF Logo
Molonglo Logo
Southern Catchment Logo

© Copyright 2021 Landcare ACT